click for full size
The Commercial Bank of Ethiopia has named two of its branches after former CBE presidents. Accordingly, a new branch situated around Ayer Tena was named after Alemu Abera, President of the bank from 1980 – 1992. Similarly, the newly opened branch around Tewdros Square was also named after Tilahun Abay, president of the bank from 1992 – 2002.
CBE 75th Anniversary Coordination Office Manager Ato Ephrem Mekuria said “the purpose of the naming is to give due recognition to the endeavours of the presidents and maintain the bank’s fruitfulness and effectiveness.”
At a ceremony held at Zagwe Hall on June 19, 2018, the two former presidents expressed their gratitude for the recognition they were given. Such endeavours need to be appreciated and taken as model by other banks, they added. The branches named after the presidents were officially inaugurated that same day. At an award-giving ceremony held later winners of the bank’s 75th Anniversary Literary and Art Competition were given prizes. The top three winners of the national level contest poetry, short story and art received birr seventy five thousand, fifty thousand, and thirty thousand for each category. The first three winners in each of the mentioned categories from among CBE employees were also awarded birr thirty thousand, twenty five thousand and twenty thousand respectively.
A commemorative postage stamp on the bank’s 75th anniversary was also unveiled during the occasion.
CEO Ato Bekalu Zeleke, Executive Management members of CBE, invited guests and relatives of the former presidents attended the ceremony.