click for full size
The Commercial Bank of Ethiopia has established a five-person Sharia Advisory Committee for its fast growing interest-free banking.
Accordingly, Dr. Jeylan Kedir will chair the committee while Sheik Mohammed Hamedin serves as vice chairman, and Associate Professor Nur Abdi, Dr. Mohammed Zeyn and Oustaz Awol Abdulwahab as members.
The advisory committee members selected for their good reputation received directives from the bank’s CEO and President Bacha Gina during a ceremony held at CBE Head Office on May 8, 2019.
The CEO and President urged the committee members to focus on addressing sections of the society that shunned banking services due to interest. He asked the Sharia Advisory Committee to encourage the public to access interest-free banking, which also contributes to the national economy.   
Chairman of the committee, Dr. Jeylan Kedir,  on his part said the members would do their level best to make interest-free banking more accessible and credible by working closely with the bank.